2022 World Cup qualifiers and what you need to know

Asia and other continents have how many places to attend the tournament in Qatar, how to play in the federation is what you need to know.

The 2022 World Cup in Qatar will be a special tournament that will probably take place in the winter rather than the summer. The following 3-year World Championship still has only 32 participating teams, before rising to 48 in 2026.

Up to now, the continents have announced the tournament format for the 2022 World Cup except Europe and Oceania.

A number of participating continents in the 2022 World Cup:

– Asia (AFC): 4.5 capacity

– Europe (UEFA): 13 points

– Africa (CAF): 5 portions

– South America (CONMEBOL): 4.5 capacity

– North, Central America and the Caribbean (CONCACAF): 3.5 capacity

– Oceania: 0.5 interest

The format of the continental qualifiers has been announced:

Asia (AFC):

40 teams are divided into 5 seed groups, each group of 8 teams, sorted by FIFA rankings in June 2019. 40 federations will be divided into 8 groups, each group has 5 teams.

The 8 best teams and the best 4 runner-up teams have qualified to attend the final round of the 2022 World Cup (also have tickets to the AFC Asian Cup 2023 in China). In the event that Qatar is in the top 12 but does not attend the final qualifying round, the team ranked fifth with the best second place in the table will have tickets to go on.

North, Central America and the Caribbean (CONCACAF):

The CONCACAF group stage will consist of 29 teams divided into 8 groups – 5 groups of 4 teams and 3 groups of 3 teams. After a round of 2 rounds to calculate points, the top 8 teams will continue to compete in the knockout round to find the 3 official teams participating in the 2022 World Cup.

The 6 teams with the highest rankings in the region in June 2020 will be able to advance to the group stage. Meanwhile, the remaining teams including Canada will have to compete for the remaining 23 official seats.

Africa (CAF):

The 26 teams with the highest rankings (according to the FIFA World Rankings) will go straight to the group stage. With the remaining 28 countries, the 14 teams with the higher rankings will play the knockout round 2 rounds with the remaining 14 teams to gain a place in the group stage.

The 40 teams that won the aforementioned tickets will be given into 10 groups of 4 teams each. The teams will compete in a round-robin format 2 times before selecting the top 10 positions in the table. Afterwards, these 10 teams will be split into a knockout stage, the 5 winning countries will qualify for the 2022 World Cup finals.

South America (CONMEBOL):

On January 24, 2019, the CONMEBOL Council decided to maintain the same qualifying structure used for the previous 6 tournaments. Ten teams will compete in a tournament of two rounds of home and away rounds. The top four teams will advance to the 2022 World Cup finals and the fifth will playoffs against representatives from another continent.